DePaul Professor Named Future Founders 'Entrepreneurship Professor of the Year'

Katherine Wilburn
May 18, 2017

Patrick J. Murphy has been honored with the title of 'Entrepreneurship Professor of the Year' from the Future Founders Startup program. The selection process accepts nominees from across Illinois who are innovators for students and entrepreneurs both in and outside the classroom. 

As a professor of management and entrepreneurship in the Driehaus College of Business, Murphy regularly assigns consulting projects that allow students to engage with the business community and acquire as much hands-on experience as possible. Murphy also builds classes around his own research and experience in management and entrepreneurship. 

"DePaul has authentic connections to the business community in Chicago, and I am able to bring that into my teaching," Murphy says. "When I teach entrepreneurship, theory and concepts are only about half of what I do. The other half is application of those concepts to entrepreneurial ventures in our community. I have built much of my DePaul career on those activities." 

Future Founders is dedicated to cultivating and inspiring the spirit of entrepreneurship among students. Reputable names such as Capital One and The Coleman Foundation support the organization. Future Founders works out of 1871, Chicago's entrepreneurial technology hub, where DePaul has a dedicated space.